about us

Rinke wines - limestone meets slate 

In 2006, the lateral entrants, Marion and Alexander Rinke, took over vineyards in a location that almost nobody knew anymore at the time. Langsurer Brüderberg is the name of the steep, partly terraced area of 2.5 hectares between Igel and Wasserbillig (behind Trier, close to the Luxembourg border). A "gem" on shell limestone, with great potential. The duo has revived this gem, which had previously been planted with Elbling, completely cleared it and replanted it with Chardonnay, mostly old Burgundian genetics and a few additional vines (including Pinot Blanc, Pinot Gris, Muscat, Gewuerztraminer).

Saar.JPG

"Field Blend!" ("Gemischter Satz")

The different varieties from the Langsurer Brüderberg which are harvested together as a "field blend" are also fermented together. The wines of the Langsurer Brüderberg thus obtained are reminiscent of Chablis and other appellations from northern Burgundy, but without being copies. In every white wine from the Langsurer Brüderberg you can taste the exotic character of the "field blend", so to speak a Chardonnay "with a shot".

For some years now, the area under vines in the 

Langsurer Brüderberg has been expanded to include Pinot Noir (Spätburgunder). Also for Pinot Noir the Rinkes rely on Burgundian clones with the lowest possible yields.

Grand Crus vineyards on the Saar

Since 2015, the two Rinkes have also been cultivating some steep slopes on the Saar, again with a focus on forgotten Grand Cru single sites. The vineyards on the Saar in the Oberemmeler Altenberg, Wiltinger Klosterberg and Wiltinger Braunfels have a high population of old vines which are between 50 and 60 years old. Their genetic diversity, coupled with low yields, are a guarantee for top-class wines in a typical Saar style. The Saar wines from Marion and Alex Rinke (mainly Riesling, but also Spätburgunder (Pinot Noir) and the very rare Frühburgunder (Pinot Madeleine / Pinot Noir Précoce) are characterized by excitement, finesse and elegance. As one of very few wineries of the Moselle Marion and Alex Rinke cultivate vines on shell limestone and slate. Limestone meets slate. Two worlds on the Moselle, each fascinating in its own way.

L1010281_edited.jpg
DURST_Rinke-1046.jpg

This is us

"That can't be everything in our lives," thought Marion and Alex Rinke when they laid the foundation for their winery in 2006 as lateral entrants by clearing and replanting a forgotten Grand Cru site on shell limestone.  The two start where many stop. They have a focus on forgotten Grand Crus, which they bring back to life with a lot of enthusiasm and passion. Nothing is too difficult for the duo.  The two do many things differently, precisely because they do not run a winery with a centuries-old tradition, but go their own quality-oriented path with fresh ideas. In the vineyard and cellar, Marion and Alex work sustainably and in harmony with nature. The vineyards are cultivated according to organic principles. The first organic wine is expected to be bottled in 2024. In the cellar, too, the two of them work in a minimalist manner and, if possible, without technical interventions and additives. Therefore, all Rinke wines are naturally vegan. After bottling, the wines often need some time to mature in the bottle. Therefore, if available, the older vintages are the better choice.

Marion and Alex Rinke bring two worlds together on the Moselle - on shell limestone and slate. Anything But Ordinary.  

21369291_1011971868946024_42178044834226

Dr. Marion Rinke

Marion Rinke is a lawyer by nature. Her focus in the winery is social media, marketing and everything organizational. She also takes care of the cellar work together with Alex Rinke. Marion has traveled to many wine-growing regions around the world. She is in constant professional exchange at VINISSSIMA - Women and Wine. Constant "learning by doing" is her strength.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
052016-1.jpg

Alexander Rinke

Before entering the wine business, Alex Rinke was an entrepreneur and ran several companies in the field of drainage technology and safety technology for buildings. Operational responsibility in the winery lies in his hands. The vineyards and their natural cultivation is his passion. Alex feels most comfortable when he is in the vineyards. His other focus is sales. He also takes care of the cellar work together with Marion. Alex also runs the restaurant Weinwirtschaft Friedrich-Friedrich-Wilhelm Trier. (Weberbachstr. 75).

Über uns

Rinke Weine - Muschelkalk trifft Schiefer 

2006 haben die Quereinsteiger, Marion und Alexander Rinke, Weinberge in einer Lage übernommen, die damals fast niemand mehr kannte. Langsurer Brüderberg nennt sich das steile, teils terrassierte Areal von 2,5 ha zwischen Igel und Wasserbillig (kurz vor Luxemburg). Ein brachgefallenes Kleinod auf Muschelkalk, mit großem Potential versehen. Das Duo hat dieses vormals mit Elbling bepflanzte Kleinod wiederbelebt, komplett gerodet und mit Chardonnay überwiegend alter burgundischer Genetik und ein paar Ergänzungsreben (u.a. Weiß-, Grauburgunder, Muskateller, Gewürztraminer) neu bepflanzt. 

Saar.JPG

"Gemischter Satz" (Mischsatz)

Das führt zusammen zum "Gemischten Satz" oder Mischsatz aus dem Langsurer Brüderberg. Die so gewonnenen Weine des Langsurer Brüderberges erinnern an Chablis und andere Appelationen des nördlichen Burgunds, ohne jedoch Kopien zu sein. In jedem Weißwein aus dem Langsurer Brüderberg schmeckt man die Exotik des "Gemischten Satzes", sozusagen ein Chardonnay "mit Schuss". 

Seit einigen Jahren wurde die Rebfläche im

Langsurer Brüderberg um Pinot Noir (Spätburgunder) erweitert. Auch beim Pinot Noir setzen die Rinkes auf burgundische Klone mit niedrigsten Ertragsansätzen.

Große Lagen an der Saar 

Seit 2015 bewirtschaften die beiden außerdem einige Steillagen an der Saar, auch hier wieder mit Fokus auf vergessenen großen Lagen. Die Weinlagen an der Saar im Oberemmeler Altenberg, Wiltinger Klosterberg und Wiltinger Braunfels weisen einen hohen Bestand Alter Reben, die zwischen 50 und 60 Jahre alt sind, auf. Ihre genetische Vielfalt, gepaart mit geringen Erträgen, sind ein Garant für hochkarätige Weine mit typischer Saar-Stilistik. Die Saar-Weine von Marion and Alex Rinke (überwiegend Riesling, aber auch Spätburgunder (Pinot Noir) und der sehr seltene Frühburgunder (Pinot Madeleine/Pinot Noir Précoce) zeichnen sich durch Spannung, Finesse und Eleganz aus. Als eines von ganz wenigen Weingütern an der Mosel bewirtschaften die beiden Lagen auf Muschelkalk und Schiefer. Muschelkalk trifft Schiefer. Zwei Welten an der Mosel, jede auf ihre Art faszinierend.

L1010281_edited.jpg
DURST_Rinke-1046.jpg

Das sind wir

"Das kann doch noch nicht alles sein in unserem Leben", dachten sich Marion und Alex Rinke, als sie 2006 als Quereinsteiger mit der Rodung und Wiederbepflanzung einer vergessenen Grand Cru Lage auf Muschelkalk den Grundstein für ihr Weingut legten.  Die beiden fangen da an, wo viele aufhören. Sie haben einen Fokus auf vergessene Grand Cru Lagen, die sie mit viel Enthusiasmus und Leidenschaft zu neuem Leben erwecken. Nichts ist zu beschwerlich für das Duo.  Die beiden machen vieles anders, gerade weil sie kein Weingut mit einer jahrhundertealten Tradition führen, sondern mit frischen Ideen ihren eigenen qualitätsorientierten Weg gehen. Im Weinberg und Keller arbeiten Marion und Alex nachhaltig und im Einklang mit der Natur. Die Weinberge werden nach biologischen Grundsätzen bewirtschaftet. Die Abfüllung des ersten Bio-Weines erfolgt voraussichtlich 2024. Auch im Keller arbeiten die beiden minimalistisch und möglichst ohne kellertechnische Eingriffe und Zusatzstoffe. Daher sind alle Rinke Weine auf natürliche Weise vegan. Die Weine benötigen nach der Füllung oft noch einige Zeit der Reife auf der Flasche. Daher sind bei Verfügbarkeit die älteren Jahrgänge die bessere Wahl.

Marion und Alex Rinke bringen zwei Welten an der Mosel zusammen - auf Muschelkalk und Schiefer. Alles Außer Gewöhnlich. 

Dr. Marion Rinke

Marion Rinke ist von Haus aus Anwältin. Ihr Fokus im Weingut ist Social Media, Marketing und alles Organisatorische.  Zudem kümmert sie sich zusammen mit Alex Rinke um die Kellerarbeit. Marion hat viele Weinbaugebiete der Welt bereist. Sie steht im ständigen fachlichen Austausch bei VINISSSIMA - Frauen und Wein. Stetiges "learning by doing" ist ihre Stärke. 

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Alexander Rinke

Alex Rinke war vor seinem Einstieg ins Wein-Business Unternehmer und führte mehrere Betriebe im Bereich Entwässerungstechnik und Sicherheitstechnik bei Bauwerken. In seinen Händen liegt die operative Verantwortung im Weingut. Die Weinberge und ihre natürliche Bearbeitung sind sein Steckenpferd und seine Leidenschaft. Alex fühlt sich am wohlsten, wenn er draußen bei seinen Reben ist. Sein weiterer Fokus ist der Vertrieb. Zudem kümmert er sich zusammen mit Marion um die Kellerarbeit. Alex betreibt auch zwei Restaurants: die Grünhäuser Mühle in Mertesdorf und die Weinwirtschaft Friedrich-Friedrich-Wilhelm in Trier.